Jonny Bairstow and Paul Stirling join Andre Russell at Abu Dhabi Knight Riders


Jonny Bairstow will join Kolkata Knight Riders mainstays Andre Russell and Sunil Narine when the organization bows out in the T20 International League.

Abu Dhabi Knight Riders will be the third team to represent the Kolkata-based franchise in the global T20 leagues, when the first UAE-based competition begins in 2023.

Read more

KKR have won the Indian Premier League twice, while the team that bears the name Trinidad and Tobago are the most successful in the history of the Caribbean Premier League.

The Knight Riders announced the first 14 players in their ADKR franchise for ILT20 on Tuesday.

Alongside Russell, Narine and Bairstow is Irish fly-half Paul Stirling, who already has an affiliation with the capital, as he plays for Team Abu Dhabi in the ADT10.

Apart from the teams representing Kolkata, Trinidad and Tobago and Abu Dhabi, the Knight Riders have also invested in Major League Cricket in the United States.

Ali Khan, the fast bowler from the United States, is also part of their ILT20 squad.

“First of all, it’s great to see that our global footprint continues to grow in line with our vision and strategy,” said Venky Mysore, franchise general manager.

“It’s also great that we have our stalwarts, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell, within ADKR.

“We’re really excited to have Jonny Bairstow join the Knight Riders family and will no doubt play an important role in ADKR’s journey into ILT20.”

ADKR Team for ILT20 2023: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Jonny Bairstow, Paul Stirling, Lahiru Kumara, Charith Asalanka, Colin Ingram, Akeal Hosein, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer, Kennar Lewis, Ali Khan, Brandon Glover

Updated: August 16, 2022, 9:20 a.m.


Comments are closed.