Drew Foxcroft wins Jumeirah Golf Estates Amateur Open


Dubai: Jumeirah Golf Estates member Drew Foxcroft shot two rounds under par, 142, to win the 2022 Jumeirah Golf Estates Amateur Open at Jumeirah Golf Estates. The first round took place on the Fire course and the second on the Earth course.

Foxcroft shot a first round 72 and two under par 70 today to win by one stroke and receives an invitation, as the first EGF player on the court, to the DP World Tour’s Ras Al Khaimah Classic to be held from 10 to February 13 at Al Hamra Golf Club, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates, courtesy of the Emirates Golf Federation.

On a beautiful winter’s day in Dubai with friendly conditions for a good score, Foxcroft birdied three holes on holes 2, 8 and 10 and bogeyed on hole 4 in his round, finishing with a solid eight pars. straight with two nines of 35.

In his 36 holes, the champion managed 7 birdies.

Craig Vance (Trump International Golf Club) tied for second on 143, with rounds of 75 and 68, the latter tied for the day’s best score with tied fifth Edoardo Galeppini (DCGYC). Vance bogeyed on the first hole but responded brilliantly with five birdies and no bogeys over the final 17 holes to miss outright. Vance had nine birdies combined in his two rounds.

Also tied for second was Viggo Sorensen (Trump International Golf Club), who finished with a six over the famous par five 15th and first-round leader Yash Majmudar (Jumeirah Golf Estates) finished bogey/double, when a par/par on the last two holes, a par 3 and a par 5, would have won the title by two free kicks.

Ninety-six players completed 36 holes, with 51 players breaking 160, 16 over par.

The 2022 Jumeirah Golf Estates Amateur Open was supported by Solutions Leisure Group and was sanctioned by the EGF as well as being an event on the Emirates Men’s Golf Federation Order of Merit 2021-2022.

Final result (Par 72. 72. 144):

D. Foxcroft (JGE) 72. 70. 142.

C. Vance (Trump International) 75. 68. 143.

V. Sorensen (Trump International) 70. 73. 143.

Y. Majmudar (JGE) 69. 74. 143.

E. Galeppini (DCGYC) 76. 68. 144.

M. Scowsill (Eng) 73. 71. 144.

P. Darnault (JGE) 71. 73. 144.

D. Bainbridge (JGE) 72. 73. 145.

D. Kirkwood (ADGC) 71. 74. 145.


Comments are closed.